Steering Committee

The Steering Committee (TSC) of OpenPOWER is composed of the chair of each OpenPOWER Work Group as well as a delegate from each of its Platinum Members. Each member of the OpenPOWER TSC shall serve for a two-year term. The operation of the TSC is governed by rules of process approved by the Board and led by an elected TSC chairman.

Responsibilities of the TSC include:

  • Recommending the charter of new Work Groups to the Board; including scope of work and confidentiality level
  • Resolving technical conflicts within and between Work Groups
  • Evaluating requests for inter-project collaboration and recommending the chartering of new Work Groups to facilitate such collaboration
  • Monitoring the technical progress of Work groups
  • Approving OpenPOWER Standards Final Deliverables
  • Establishing OpenPOWER Standards Final Deliverable quality standards, technical best practices and release dates
  • Approving changes by Work Groups to OSS Communities and OSS Licenses in the Work Group’s charter, and under section 3.5 of the Intellectual Property Rights Policy
  • Regularly reporting on progress of Work Groups to the Board

Toshaan Bharvani

(Steering Committee Chair)
Toshaan Bharvani

Toshaan Bharvani is a IT consultant and currently CTO at VanTosh, from Antwerp, Belgium. He has a interest in Open Source Software and IT Hardware. He started his IT interest at a very early age, when his father gave him his first own PC components. Ever since he has been interested in IT hardware and software. Toshaan started working for an IT reseller and learned a lot about the hardware part, ranging from motherboard designs, to assembly process and to technical hardware reselling. In business, he tends to combine higher level applications with lower level systems. Toshaan has been involved in open source projects and communities, and focuses on hardware and software, porting and optimizing software, running cloud and container platforms.

VanTosh has been a member of the OpenPOWER Foundation from 2017, and Toshaan has been around the POWER platform since POWER5. He was elected Chair of the Technical Steering Committee in September 2020.

Sandy Woodward

(Compliance Workgroup)

Allan Cantle

(High-Performance-Computing Workgroup)
Allan Cantle

Allan Cantle currently is the CEO of Nallasway, a consulting Company in the area of Distributed, Heterogeneous, High Performance Computing Solutions. Most recently, Allan was CTO of the I.S.I. group in Molex from 2018 to July 2020 after Nallatech was acquired by Molex along with BittWare. Prior, Allan founded Nallatech where he resided for 25 years and held two positions; CEO from 1993 thru 2005 where he had full P&L responsibility growing Nallatech’s revenue at a 50% CAGR, and, President and Founder from 2006 to 2018 where he was responsible for Nallatech’s Product Roadmap based around solving real application problems with the best heterogeneous computing solutions.

Paul Lecocq

(LibreBMC Workgroup)

Lionel Clavien

(Machine Learning AI Work Group)

Pierre-Luc Cantin

(Memory Workgroup)

Klaus Kiwi

(System Software Workgroup)

Paul Mackerras

(Instruction Set Architecture Workgroup)